It’s very out of character for me to write so much without signing my real name.  I’ve been a writer for most of my life and one of the joys of writing, for me, is disclosure.  I feel successful in my writing when I get that slightly-scared sorta queasy feeling of "I can’t believe I just told you that."   In this effort, I still get some of the pleasure of disclosure, but unattributed disclosure is a little bit less risky and also not as fun.  But that’s the way it is for now.  I would love to sign my name, but I can’t, because there are children involved.  Namely, mine; the ones we’re trying to create through third-party, very-much-assisted reproduction.  Those children have a right to decide who knows and who does not know that their heritage is a little more interesting than most, and so I am careful who I tell and who I do not tell about the way we’re trying to have them. 

There is also a lot of freedom for me in writing this way, knowing that some people out there who don’t know me will get to read what I write without knowing all my baggage.  (that’s the baggage I haven’t told you about; yes, there’s more).   

But there is a section of my audience that is comprised of people who know me, who I have told about this blog.  You get to know me outside the blog as well as within it, and I ask you to be careful not to "out" me, and I hope you can respect my need to protect my family’s privacy.  That means you can’t tell mutual friends that I have a blog; but you can tell them to ask me about it if you want them to enjoy the shimmering brilliance of my prose along with you.  Or whatever.   I’m not paranoid that SD-6 is going to come and hunt us down if you read my blog or comment, and I’m trying not to flatter myself that that many people out there will ever read this, be they known to me or not.  So thanks for understanding the parameters and enjoy.

